Nominate a grantmaker for the 2017 NCRP Impact Awards

Written by: Aaron Dorfman

Date: June 15, 2017

Do you know of grantmakers that in the past year boldly …

  • Led by example
  • Took risks with their giving
  • Stood with those who are vulnerable and marginalized

… in response to our current political, social and environmental challenges?

You can help recognize these inspiring funders by nominating them for the 2017 NCRP Impact Awards.


Nominate a grantmaker for the 2017 NCRP Impact Awards


Daniel Lee, Levi Strauss FoundationIt is a poignant honor to receive the 2013 Impact Award from the NCRP, a fearless and values-driven watchdog of foundations. NCRP’s benchmarks … serve as a mirror to examine how the Levi Strauss Foundation lives up to our own values and aspirations – empathy, integrity, originality and courage.”

Daniel Lee
Executive Director
Levi Strauss Foundation – 2013 Awardee

Recognizing the best of the best

Since 2013, the National Committee for Responsive Philanthropy has celebrated funders that have shown leadership, innovation and commitment to solving the country’s toughest problems through its annual Impact Awards.

But the 2017 Awards will be different. We have seen tremendous need – and an opportunity – for our country’s grantmakers to use smart and effective strategies to have lasting positive impact.

Regretfully, for many funders it’s “business as usual.” Some have decided to wait it out while others adopted small measures, perhaps fearing potential fall out or the risk of failing.

But there are those that have taken bigger steps than ever before to strengthen communities and promote opportunity and justice for all. Help us celebrate these foundations that stepped up to answer the call.

Nominate winners for our four new award categories:

  • The “Smashing Silos” Award for Intersectional Grantmaking
  • The “Get Up, Stand Up” Award for Rapid Response Grantmaking
  • The “Changing Course” Award for Incorporating Feedback
  • The “Mover and Shaker” Award for Bold Peer Organizing

Learn more about these new categories.

Nominate a grantmaker now


 Shane Murphy Goldsmith, Liberty Hill Foundation“At Liberty Hill, we put the ‘social’ in ‘social justice’ – and we love any chance to celebrate with other leaders in the fight for justice and equality. We are organizers, donor-activists and allies, and to us, this is a meaningful award because it’s from a group we hold in high esteem for its brave work to strengthen social justice philanthropy.” 

Shane Murphy Goldsmith
President & CEO
Liberty Hill Foundation – 2014 Awardee

High-impact philanthropy changes the world

NCRP Impact Awardees are role models for others funders so that they, too, can achieve positive lasting impact especially during this critical moment in our history.

Imagine a world where grantmakers act boldly to make headway on education outcomes, health care, economic security, racial equity and more. We need your help to make this happen.

Learn more about the 2017 NCRP Impact Awards and nominate inspiring exemplary foundations now.