Announcing the 2021 NCRP Impact Awards Selection Committee

These 10 philanthropy and nonprofit leaders will select the winners of the 2021 NCRP Impact Awards.

Written by:

Date: March 25, 2021

Since 2013, NCRP has honored the best of philanthropy through our NCRP Impact Awards initiative, and since 2019, we’ve used a 10-person Selection Committee to select the winners.

I am excited to announce today the 10 outstanding leaders from across the philanthropic and nonprofit sectors who are tasked with selecting 4 bold funders to receive the 2021 NCRP Impact Awards.

This year’s Impact Award winners will be announced in September, and the awards will take place at the CHANGE Philanthropy Unity Summit in October.

The distinguished members of the 2021 selection committee are:

  • Nikki Brown-Booker, Program Officer, Disability Inclusion Fund, Borealis Philanthropy
  • Jennifer Epps-Addison, Network President and Co-Executive Director, The Center for Popular Democracy and CPD Action
  • Jorge Gutierrez, Executive Director, Familia: Trans Queer Liberation Movement
  • Taryn Higashi, Executive Director, Unbound Philanthropy
  • Daniel Lee, Executive Director, Levi Strauss Foundation (NCRP Board Member)
  • Vivek (Vik) Malhotra, Strategy and Organizational Development Consultant (NCRP Board Member)
  • Sudha Nandagopal, CEO, Social Venture Partners International
  • Shaady Salehi, Director, Trust-Based Philanthropy Project
  • Erik R. Stegman, Executive Director, Native Americans in Philanthropy
  • Tim Wallace, Director of Development, Legal Aid Justice Center

In addition, I will serve as the NCRP staff representatives on the committee.

This year is the second time we’ve used a Selection Committee to choose the winners. Visit NCRP’s website for information on the committee members, including bios.

Recognizing philanthropy’s work supporting social justice movements

Members of the committee will honor awardees in the following 4 award categories:

  • “Mover and Shaker” Award for Bold Peer Organizing
  • “Smashing Silos” Award for Intersectional Grantmaking
  • “Changing Course” Award for Incorporating Feedback
  • “Get Up, Stand Up” Award for Rapid Response

These categories, which debuted at the 2017 edition of the Impact Awards, reflect positive changes in philanthropy, with more funders seriously considering how to fund social justice movements, leveraging their own power for systemic change, and sharing decision-making and governance with marginalized communities. A list of past NCRP Impact Awards winners is available on our website.

See you at the CHANGE Philanthropy Unity Summit

The 2021 Impact Awards will be hosted at the CHANGE Philanthropy Unity Summit, which will take place in October. Sign up for information and updates from the CHANGE network, of which NCRP is a partner.

Stayed tuned for additional Impact Awards updates in the coming weeks!