New member joins NCRP’s board of directors

For Immediate Release

New director joins NCRP’s board

Don Ragona elected to serve on philanthropy watchdog board

Washington, D.C. (9/27/2018) – The National Committee for Responsive Philanthropy (NCRP) board of directors yesterday elected Donald M. Ragona as a new member during its board meeting.

“We are honored to have Don on the board,” said the Rev. Starsky Wilson, president and CEO of Deaconess Foundation, and chair of NCRP’s board. “His experience and leadership in promoting racial, economic and social equity will enrich NCRP’s continuing efforts to inspire donors and funders to ensure that our social justice movements have the resources to succeed.”

Cynthia Renfro, principal of Civis Consulting, concludes her service as a director this month, having served the maximum allowable nine years.

“We at NCRP are deeply grateful to Cynthia for sharing her passion, vision and wisdom for the past nine years. Her leadership helped strengthen NCRP as an advocate for philanthropy at its best,” said Aaron Dorfman, chief executive of NCRP. “I am excited to work with Don, whom I deeply admire. His fresh perspective will be invaluable as NCRP continues to advocate for the kind of philanthropy that prioritizes and empowers marginalized communities during these challenging times.”

Donald M. Ragona

In addition to serving as Director of Development and House Counsel at Native American Rights Fund, Ragona has also guest lectured on federal Indian law and Indian issues at various universities such as Brown University, University of Colorado and University of Arizona. He frequently speaks on estate planning, philanthropic and current issues in Indian country and their potential effects on Native nations at Native conferences such as those sponsored by the National Congress of American Indians, National Indian Gaming Association and Native Americans in Philanthropy. He is a member of the Matinecock tribe.

Continuing leadership

The board also re-elected Bill Dempsey, senior advisor at; Cristina Jiménez, co-founder and executive director of United We Dream Network, and NCRP board secretary; Vivek Malhotra, strategy and organizational development consultant, and NCRP board treasurer; Molly Schultz Hafid, associate director at TCC Group; and Rev. Wilson.

Jocelyn Sargent, executive director of The Hyams Foundation, replaces Renfro on the executive committee of the board.

Biographies of NCRP board members are available on

About NCRP

The National Committee for Responsive Philanthropy amplifies the voice of nonprofits and the communities they serve in the philanthropic sector. Through research and advocacy, it works to ensure that grantmakers and donors contribute to the creation of a fair, just and equitable world.


Contact: Yna C. Moore at (202) 557-1381 or ymoore[at]

Complete List of NCRP’s Board of Directors:

Executive Committee

  • Rev. Starsky Wilson (Chair), Deaconess Foundation
  • Daniel Lee (Vice Chair), Levi Strauss Foundation
  • Vivek Malhotra (Treasurer),  Strategy and Organizational Development Consultant
  • Cristina Jiménez (Secretary), United We Dream Network
  • Jocelyn Sargent (At-Large), The Hyams Foundation


  • Sharon Alpert, Nathan Cummings Foundation
  • Bill Dempsey,
  • Taj James, Movement Strategy Center
  • Mary Lassen, Center for Community Change
  • Ruth W. Messinger, American Jewish World Service
  • Donald M. Ragona, Native American Rights Fund
  • Joseph Scantlebury, W.K. Kellogg Foundation
  • Molly Schultz Hafid, TCC Group
  • Pamela Shifman, NoVo Foundation
  • Lateefah Simon, Akonadi Foundation
  • Katherine S. Villers, Community Catalyst